Pink.

OK.  Time to lighten things up a little bit around here.  The following incident took place in February of 2005.  It’s all true–every bit of it.  No names have been changed, because trust me–there were no innocent people in this one!  It is still the story that people remember most.

2/18

       What a week.  And that was just yesterday.  Our children were off of
school Wednesday and Thursday due to two days of political protests here in
Quito.  Basically, they were trying to oust the President.  And no, I don’t
have any clue whether or not they were successful.  Thursday, I had to work.
I told Heather and Kristina that they could have a friend over, as my maid
is there on Thursday.  Dan and I went home for lunch at noon, and the first
thing that greets us, tail wagging, is a PINK German Shepherd.  Followed by
a pink poodle, which in the grand scheme of things, is a little more
understandable.  Pink on a Shepherd is just WRONG.  Anyway, we proceeded to
try and find the source of the pink.  Heather and Kristina and their friends
were in the garage, painting away.  With HOUSE PAINT.  Red, blue,
purple…They had painted the walls, the floor, all of the furniture stored
in the garage, the patio, the ROOF, the dogs…It was the most unbelievable
mess I have ever seen.  And to top it all off, I ended up running interference
between the girls and their dad, because murder is illegal, no matter where you live.  He went back to work, and I spent a good part of the afternoon scrubbing and fuming.  Last night, we reached a
compromise.  You can now write to the girls in care of some boarding school
in Switzerland-I’ll let you know when I get the name.  Several people have
asked me why the girls would do such a thing.  I don’t know.  And honestly,
there wasn’t a reason that could have justified it, so I didn’t press the
matter.

One thought on “Pink.

Leave a comment